Skip to content

Garageband error message – preferences file corrupted

April 20, 2008

I posted this message to the group recently:

This message kept showing each time I start GarageBand on my Mac. I think it started when I forcibly shutdown my Mac and might have ruined my preferences file or something… I don’t know. Any ideas?

BTW, it doesn’t appear to cause serious malfunctions. I just click Cancel and it goes away. The GB app works OK as far as I could tell.

GarageBand - error message

Vanessa‘s reply:

I Googled your error message and found this:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=6439272

which led to this suggestion: http://www.bulletsandbones.com/GB/FAQPages/OddBallProbs.html

The solution was to delete the GarageBand preferences file. Then restart GarageBand and reset the Preferences. Worked for me.

To delete the GarageBand preferences file, locate and delete these two files on your Mac:

  • com.apple.garageband.cs
  • com.apple.garageband.plist

This page has screenshots to show you how to locate the two files.

Thanks, Vanessa! Ah, now I know… the error message indicated that something’s wrong with the Preferences file (i.e. “com.apple.garageband.cs”).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2008 12:51 am

    No problem. Glad to help 🙂

  2. September 28, 2012 8:14 pm

    Ah cheers I had the same kind of issue with GarageBand… eventually I just ended up reinstalling. :p

  3. February 26, 2015 5:42 am

    Hi guys I need help.
    Everytime I try to open GarageBand it give me a Garageband error -1712 than closes the application . How do I fix it

Leave a Reply

